top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Monthly Jams: November 2021


We're running a little behind on monthly playlists here (finals season for this college kid) but I am beyond excited to bring the November edition of Strawberry Skies Monthly Jams to you all! For any other college students, I hope you had a great Thanksgiving break and that you're not driving yourself crazy while taking your exams.


This was a month full of super fun new music and super fun shows for me, and I can't wait to tell you all about it. You can listen to this month's playlist on Spotify here.


"Feel Nothing" - Never Coming Home


Never Coming Home released the double single "Coffins/Feel Nothing" at the end of October, but I didn't get to show it a ton of love yet so I decided that it counts for November. You may have heard "Coffins" on the radio show a few weeks back, but these tracks are definitely worth a listen if you haven't checked them out yet!


"Oxygen" - Beach Bunny


I just got tickets to see Beach Bunny for the first time next spring and this new single has gotten me so excited for the show even though it's still months away. This track was included on a weekly jams playlist at the start of this month as well.


"LOCKED N LOADED" - Out For Justice


It feels so long ago that the highlights of my new music Friday were Out For Justice, Save Face, Boston Manor, and Ed Sheeran, but that glorious day was just a few weeks back. This record has stayed in my rotation since its initial release.


"Bite Me" - Avril Lavigne


I am so beyond glad that Avril Lavigne is back and better than ever. This new single is a perfect blend of her classic sound and newer elements and I can't wait to hear what's next for her.


"I Don't Like People (& They Don't Like Me)" - Boston Manor


Boston Manor's "Desperate Times, Desperate Pleasures" EP (physical copies via Sharptone Records) came out about a month ago, and I'm still absolutely obsessed with it, especially this track (also included on our November 11th playlist). Can't wait to hear the new songs live eventually.


"Million Miles of Fun" - Drug Church


Drug Church's "Cheer" is one of my favorite albums of all time, and if these two new singles "Million Miles of Fun" and "Detective Lieutenant" are any indication, I'll feel the same about their upcoming record, "Hygiene", being released in March 2022 through Pure Noise Records (pre-orders here). You can hear the other track on our November 18th playlist.


"Girl At Home (Taylor's Version)" - Taylor Swift


Taylor Swift re-released her album "Red" this month, and while I've always loved "Girl At Home", this new, poppier version is definitely an upgrade. One of my other favorite tracks from this LP, "The Moment I Know (Taylor's Version)" is on our November 18th playlist as well.


"Nightmare" - Belmont


When I found out Belmont was doing a cover of an Avenged Sevenfold song on their new EP, I wasn't sure how it'd turn out, but they absolutely hit it out of the park. Be sure to give "Bowser's Mixtape" (the title track is on our November 4th playlist) a listen.


"Itty Bitty Pieces" - 200 Stab Wounds


I saw 200 Stab Wounds for the first time back in October and their new album "Slave to the Scalpel" definitely lived up to the hype in my eyes. Would definitely like to see this band again soon.


"How Flowers Grow" - Scowl


Scowl is hands down my favorite band that I started listening to this year, and their new album "How Flowers Grow" will undoubtedly be on my end-of-year-favorites list. Another track from this record, "Seeds to Sow", was featured on our weekly playlist a few weeks back.


"mememe" - 100 gecs


100 gecs put out possibly my favorite albums both 2019 and 2020, so it's no shock to me that I've had this new track on repeat since it came out. You can check it out on the last playlist of November as well.


"Undercover Cop" - Restraining Order


Restraining Order is one of those bands that I can't believe I still haven't seen live yet. Their new split with Warfare absolutely rocks.


"Cut My Head" - Photographic Memory, Makk Mikkael


Photographic Memory's Max Epstein has quite the resume, from playing in hardcore band Militarie Gun to working with Cold War Kids and Angel Du$t, and this project only adds to his musical prowess. It's hard to classify this track into a genre, but I'd say that's a big part of its appeal.


"Blue" - Corey Mastrangelo


This is a single from Corey Mastrangelo's new album, "Long Distance Station to Station." I haven't gotten to listen to the full record yet (year-end craziness) but I really enjoyed this track!


"Narcissus Off Duty" - In A Daydream


In A Daydream's debut record “This Side of Purgatory” came out on Friday, December 3rd. This was the last single out before the LP dropped and it became one of my favorites super quickly.


"Prism on a Window" - Worst Party Ever


I listened to this song for the first time while driving around looking at Christmas lights with my mom, and that was honestly the best way to experience it. Definitely go see this band on tour next year.


"Overripe" - Taking Meds


Last month we got to put out an interview and photo gallery with Abby Clare featuring Taking Meds, and this month they got to put out their album "Terrible News From Wonderful Men!" They have a ton of live shows coming up as well, and I know this is only the beginning for them.


"Galactic Thrills" - The Vernes


I love a good band from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and The Vernes are one of those that you should absolutely keep an eye on. Their debut album "Nuclear Winter" just came out and is definitely worth a listen.


"i promise, i'm lying - hyperpop remix" - Pollyanna


Pollyanna has had a busy autumn, signing to I Surrender Records a few weeks back and releasing the deluxe version of their 2020 EP "Sugar Coat" this month. This hyperpop remix of fan-favorite "I Promise, I'm Lying" is definitely the highlight.


"Shivers" - Ed Sheeran


I've been a fan of Ed Sheeran since I was in elementary school, so I probably would've liked his new album "=" no matter what it sounded like, but I was definitely pleasantly surprised by how many tracks have stayed in my rotation in the weeks since its release. Hoping to finally get to see him live soon.


"Converse County" - Raccoon Tour


Raccoon Tour, the "musical brainchild" of Nate Burr, put out their album "The Dentonweaver" on December 3rd, and if you're a fan of bands like Rare Candy or NeverShoutNever, I highly recommend checking out. Would also love to see this band live.


"Crying Over It All" - Waterparks


I got to see Waterparks twice in November, at Brooklyn Steel in Brooklyn, NY and at Toad's Place in New Haven, CT. They were two of the best live shows I've ever been to for their own reasons and I can't wait for them to go on tour again.


"Lead To Gray" - One Step Closer


I wasn't able to make it to One Step Closer's album release show at the end of November (jealous of all of you that did), but I did get to see them supporting Comeback Kid in Brooklyn at the beginning of the month. Getting to hear those new songs live in such a small setting at The Monarch was awesome, and I can't wait to see them again soon.


"What It Meant" - Broken Vow


When I made this playlist, Broken Vow's new EP "Sane Minds End" hadn't been released yet (that tells you how long I've been sitting on this), so I was just going to talk about getting to see them live again in November. Now, I'm going to tell you that I got to see them once in November and once in December for their EP release show, and you should absolutely give "Sane Minds End" a listen.


"Not Like You" - SPACED


I got to see SPACED in November as well, and, like Broken Vow, they also have some new music out. They followed up their debut demo with "Two New Joints", and absolutely hit it out of the park. This band is the future of hardcore.


"False Comfort" - Private Mind


Before November, I had only seen Private Mind live once, and I wasn't familiar with them when I had seen them, so getting to sing these songs live made me very very happy. This is one of those bands that makes me proud to be from Long Island.


"Id" - Stand Still


Stand Still is another band that certainly makes me proud to be from Long Island. I got to see them once in November and have already seen them twice in December; you'd think I'd be sick of them by now, but this band's high-energy live presence never gets old.


"Watch You Die Again" - Save Face


I wanted to use the last three songs of this playlist to highlight some bands I was supposed to see at the end of November but wasn't able to due to some shows getting canceled. Save Face is in my top three favorite bands of all time, so I was devastated when I didn't get to see them, but, if everything goes as planned, I'll be seeing them in just a few months. Stream "Another Kill For The Highlight Reel."


"24 Hr Drive-Thru" - Origami Angel


Origami Angel just absolutely rocked it at State Champs' Frozen Fest last weekend, but it seems like the universe will do anything to keep me from seeing this band. Stoked to (hopefully) see them with Save Face in early 2022.


"Crybaby (On the Phone)" - Mom Jeans.


Mom Jeans. is the band that I felt for the most in this situation, as they were the headliner on the tour. They have a new album called "Sweet Tooth" coming out in February 2022, be sure to check that out when it drops.


What were your favorite songs this month? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

19 views0 comments
bottom of page