top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies News: We're on the Radio!


Hi friends! Can't say "long time no see" this time, but I guess that's a good thing. It's good to be back again, and I'm hoping to get back into the swing of posting more...something tells me that won't be a problem, but I'm getting ahead of myself here.


One week ago, I posted my monthly playlist for August (read about the songs here, listen on Spotify here) and I told you that if everything went according to plan, I'd have a lot more to share with you very soon. I'm happy to report that everything has gone according to plan, and I do have a lot to share with you, starting right now! Here it is:


Strawberry Skies is now also a radio show!


I just started pursuing my master's degree in media studies at Quinnipiac University in Hamden, Connecticut, and their wide array of student media organizations was a huge reason why I ultimately chose to attend this school. Between the Q30 television station, the Montage literary magazine, the Chronicle newspaper, and the brand new podcast studio, I knew that I would fit right in at the school of communications here.


The first organization that I got involved with here was the WQAQ 98.1 FM radio station - I sent them an email asking for my own show before the involvement fair had even happened. My good friend (and podcast co-host over at Buncha Beauties!) Sam Prevot graduated from QU a few years back, and listening to her radio show every week while she was a student really inspired me.


If you're reading this, you already know that I love music and connecting with people more than anything on this planet. I feel like I truly thrive in situations where I can combine them both, like making new friends at a concert, writing a review for a friend's band, or even just discussing new music with a stranger on social media.


My love for music and the human connection is what got me to start writing about music (you should also already know that I love to write if you're reading this), and it's what ultimately got me to start this blog. It's also what pushed me to bring Strawberry Skies to the airwaves on WQAQ. I can't wait to share even more awesome music and crazy ramblings with you all!


I'll be playing my favorite recent releases along with whatever I've been listening to weekly every Thursday from 3:00 to 4:00 PM EST from now until the end of the semester, and hopefully for a very long time after that. I had my first "trial run" show this week and had a blast dancing around the studio in my chair by myself - I hope you'll join me in dancing along, wherever you are.


To listen to the Strawberry Skies radio show, you can tune in to WQAQ 98.1 FM, The Soundtrack of Quinnipiac University, at this link. Everything should be up and running for showtime next week, and of course feel free to let me know if that time rolls around and you're having any issues!


I'll be posting the songs I play each week as weekly editions of the Strawberry Skies Jams playlists, so if you hear something you like or want to catch up after missing a show you can absolutely do so - be sure to follow me on Spotify now so you don't miss them! I'll also be taking submissions/requests for the show the same way I do for the site, so, as always, don't hesitate to shoot me an email at strawberryskiesblog@gmail.com if you have a release you think I'd fall in love with.


I'm really, really excited about this next step in the Strawberry Skies journey, and I really hope that all of you will come along on it with me. Look out for the playlist from the first Strawberry Skies radio show being posted this weekend!


What songs do you want to hear me play? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page