top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams: April 7th, 2022


Welcome to my first Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams show as a 19-year-old! My birthday was this week, so we've got a few 19th birthday/April-themed tracks, along with new releases as always.


If you're reading this between 6:00 and 7:00 PM EST on Thursday, April 7th, you can listen live right now here. If you're not reading this during that timeframe, you can listen to what I played using this week's Spotify playlist here!


"April 7th" - The Maine


I had to play this song today because it obviously matches up with today's date! The Maine has been one of my favorite bands for a while and this song always puts me in a good mood.


"Kilby Girl" - The Backseat Lovers


This is definitely a song that I obnoxiously played on my birthday because it has lyrics about turning 19. No shame there.


"Nineteen" - Movements


This is a sadder song about the age of 19, but it's still one of my favorites from one of my favorite bands. Shoutout to anyone who texted me celebrating my "Movements birthday."


"Jean Jacket" - The Summer Set


This is the last of the songs that mention being 19, and I had to throw this in because I am so excited that The Summer Set has been making a comeback lately! The record that this track is on, "Stories for Monday", will always hold up for me.


"Not Giving You Up (Acoustic)" - Big Time Rush


Speaking of bands who are making a comeback, I've been very vocal about how stoked I am that Big Time Rush is releasing new music again. This acoustic version of their latest single is beautiful.


"Superheroes (Acoustic)" - The Script


Apparently I'm the queen of transitions today, because we've got another acoustic track! This song by The Script has been one of my favorites for a few years and this version is super fun too.


"Great Romances Of The 20th Century (Demo)" - Taking Back Sunday


I found this demo version of my favorite Taking Back Sunday song on my Release Radar playlist on Spotify and I think I might love it even more than the original. Hands up if you remember the Koyo live cover.


"Kick (Etc Version)" - Spanish Love Songs


I've thoroughly been enjoying the "Etc Version" tracks that Spanish Love Songs has been releasing lately, and this one didn't disappoint. I hope I get to see them live again soon.


"Not Everyone Is Gonna Love You" - Mattstagraham, Pollyanna


Pollyanna is going to take over the world one day, and each new song that they put out seems to be a step in that direction. This collaboration with Mattstagraham is a super fun pop-rock track.


"Fire Escape" - Beach Bunny


I got myself Beach Bunny tickets for the day after the spring semester ends so I've been listening to this new single a ton lately. If you want upbeat pop princess goodness, this will be right up your alley.


"Take My Hand" - 5 Seconds of Summer


5 Seconds of Summer has been one of my favorite bands for as long as I remember, and I don't think I'll ever outgrow them. Each sound change and evolution makes me respect them more.


"Circles" - In Her Own Words, Derek DiScanio


In Her Own Words has officially joined the club of pop-punk bands who have songs featuring State Champs' Derek DiScanio! Jokes aside, I've been IHOW's hype-woman all year so far and I don't see that stopping anytime soon.


"Straight North" - Koyo


It'd only be appropriate to close out with another band that I've been a huge hype-woman for, Long Island Hardcore heroes Koyo. Their latest single is some of their best work and I genuinely enjoy watching them succeed constantly.


What songs do you want to hear me play next week? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

20 views0 comments
bottom of page