top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams: December 9th, 2021


Welcome to another episode of the Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams! This is our second to last episode before winter break and this is probably one of my favorite playlists that we've had so far this semester, so I can't wait to play it for you.


If you're reading this between 3:00 and 4:00 PM EST on Thursday, December 9th, you can listen live right now here. If you're not reading this during that timeframe, you can listen to what I played using this week's Spotify playlist here!


"Untouchable" - Luna Halo


I only know this song because Taylor Swift covered it, and I only know it's not originally by her because of TikTok, but I have been obsessed with it all week. I have no real reason for playing it other than it's been stuck in my head since Monday, so enjoy.


"Catch Your Eye" - Like Pacific


Like Pacific's new album "Control My Sanity" has been out for about a week and it's one of the strongest pop-punk records I've heard in a while. I have no doubt that this will translate well to a live setting.


"Your Fate" - Broken Vow


Broken Vow is another band that had a new release this past week, with their debut EP "Sane Minds End" via Sunday Drive Records and New Morality Zine. If you're in the area, be sure to make it out to their release show this weekend at Rednawa in Middletown, CT with support from Ill Communication, Wreckage, Adrienne, and Ultimatum.


"Bittersweet" - Trophy Eyes


Trophy Eyes has been on a roll lately, releasing singles "27 Club" and "Bittersweet" at the tail end of 2021. Really hoping that a new album is coming next.


"jealousy, jealousy" - Olivia Rodrigo


Moving on to some more 2021 recap content, Olivia Rodrigo's debut full-length "SOUR" (full review here) came out earlier this year and is by far one of the strongest releases of the past few months. Tickets for her first headlining tour go on sale tomorrow at 10 AM local time.


"That's When (feat. Keith Urban) (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault)" - Taylor Swift


It's hard to believe that the re-recorded version of Taylor Swift's sophomore album "Fearless" came out this year, but it was only a few months ago that we were re-living one of the singer's most iconic eras. The previously unreleased vault tracks are definitely the highlight.


"Remember When" - Chevelle


Chevelle has been one of my favorite bands since I was in elementary school, and their new album "Niratias" (full review here) certainly didn't disappoint. This is a band that I started liking largely because of their live presence, so I'm hoping I get to see them again soon.


"fences" - Lilac Queen


Lilac Queen released an EP called "things are different now" via No Sleep Records back in April, and although I admittedly haven't listened to it a ton since, I was obsessed with this track when it first came out. Excited to see what's next for them.


"Death Dance Approximately" - Citizen


Citizen's "Life In Your Glass World" is hands-down my favorite record of 2021 - the lead single "I Want To Kill You" was my most-played song of the year, according to Spotify. This track will go down as one of the best pop-punk-adjacent openers of the 2020s.


"Fake Blood" - Heart Attack Man


This weekend, Heart Attack Man, Boston Manor, and Neck Deep were supposed to finish up their US tour this weekend in Baltimore, New York City, and Worcester, but unfortunately won't be able to due to some members of the touring party testing positive for COVID-19. I wanted to take the next part of the show to highlight these bands - please support them in any way that you can!


"Laika" - Boston Manor


I haven't seen Boston Manor since the end of 2019 and was really looking forward to seeing them this weekend, but they've been teasing a spring 2022 headliner as of late, so hopefully they'll be back on the road soon. This was the first song I ever heard by them and is still one of my favorites.


"Sick Joke" - Neck Deep


This is one of the strongest tracks off of Neck Deep's 2020 album "All Distortions Are Intentional", and I know it'll be amazing when I finally get to hear it live. Be sure to show them a lot of love this month.


"The Cave" - Stand Still


I got to see Stand Still on Long Island last weekend and I get to see them again on Long Island this weekend. Life is good.


"Sell Your Cause" - Incendiary


Incendiary's annual holiday benefit show will be happening this Saturday at Amityville Music Hall in Amityville, NY with support from Stand Still and Stabbed. Nothing says "Christmas break" to me like seeing this band play a show, and since I haven't seen them since the end of 2019, I'm beyond excited.


What songs do you want to hear me play next week? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page