top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams: February 10th, 2022


After a few weeks off for winter break, we are finally back on the WQAQ 98.1 FM airwaves on the same day and at a brand new time, 6-7 PM EST every Thursday! This week we'll be checking out some new releases, some Valentine's Day favorites, and some local bands you can see this weekend if you live near Quinnipiac.


If you're reading this between 6:00 and 7:00 PM EST on Thursday, February 10th, you can listen live right now here. If you're not reading this during that timeframe, you can listen to what I played using this week's Spotify playlist here!


"Premium Offer" - Drug Church


This is the latest single from Drug Church's upcoming album "Hygiene", which is getting released next month. Words cannot describe how ready I am for this record.


"she's all i wanna be" - Tate McRae


Tate McRae has been teasing this song on TikTok for a while now, and I can't believe it's finally out. If you love Olivia Rodrigo's "good 4 u", you need to listen to this track.


"Lonely Island" - Knuckle Puck


Knuckle Puck just released a new EP, and although I admittedly haven't listened to it a ton, I'm liking what I'm hearing so far. Excited to see them live next month.


"Lights Out" - In Her Own Words


After only knowing one song for three years, I finally started listening to In Her Own Words more recently, and I'm in love with everything that they do. This new single rocks.


"Fine For You" - Highwind


Highwind is one of my favorite bands, and they're constantly pushing genre boundaries and experimenting. This new track is no exception, and it's perfect.


"Loved You A Little" - The Maine, Taking Back Sunday, Charlotte Sands


This is the collaboration I never knew I needed. Not much to say, just, wow, what a flawless song.


"Casualty of Time" - Age of Apocalypse


Age of Apocalypse is definitely one of the most exciting bands in hardcore right now, and their new album helped to solidify that for me. Keep an eye on them if you aren't already doing so.


"Love You For A Long Time" - Maggie Rogers


I wanted to play some of my favorite love songs since Valentine's Day is in a few days! My favorite Maggie Rogers song is "Light On", but this is a close second.


"Make You Mine" - PUBLIC


This is a song I found on TikTok after it went viral a few months (years?) ago. Just a feel-good, timeless indie-pop love song.


"Deep Red" - Movements


Movements was one of the bands that got me into pop-punk/alternative music, and this was my first favorite song by them. Gives me chills every time.


"When You Move" - Parachute


Parachute was the first band I ever saw from right up against a barricade, so they'll always be special to me. See if you can hear the sample from "The Little Mermaid" on this track.


"Doubtless" - Almighty Watching


Almighty Watching is playing their record release show for "Doubtless" tomorrow at the Wamleg in Wallingford, CT, with support from Broken Head, Wreckage, Rain of Salvation, and One Step Closer. If you're in the area and want to check out some super fun local music, you should show up.


"The Sound of Triumph" - Rain of Salvation


Rain of Salvation is probably the band I'm most excited to see since I haven't seen them in a while. The thought of this song being played live gives me butterflies in my stomach.


"From Me To You" - One Step Closer


This is my favorite One Step Closer song, and I will be distraught if they don't play it this weekend. That is all.


What songs do you want to hear me play next week? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

23 views0 comments
bottom of page