top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams: March 10th, 2022


Welcome to the final Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams show/playlist before spring break! The first half of my second semester of freshman year is coming to an end, but we have a ton of new releases and springtime-themed songs coming your way regardless.


If you're reading this between 6:00 and 7:00 PM EST on Thursday, March 10th, you can listen live right now here. If you're not reading this during that timeframe, you can listen to what I played using this week's Spotify playlist here!


"Ten Digits Away" - Koyo


If you know me, you know how much I love Koyo, and this song is undoubtedly another hit from them. They've also just signed to Pure Noise Records, one of my favorite labels, which is absolutely huge. Big congrats to them, and wishing them luck at LDB Fest this weekend as well (not that they'll need it). Long Island Hardcore Forever.


"Goodbye Mr. Blue" - Father John Misty


This is Father John Misty's latest single from his upcoming album "Chloë and the Next 20th Century." If you've been following along with these playlists, you know I've had mixed emotions on the singles so far, but I am totally looking forward to this record nonetheless.


"OPEN A WINDOW" - Tyler, the Creator & Rex Orange County


I started listening to Tyler, the Creator when my boyfriend recommended his album "IGOR" to me the first week we started hanging out a few months back. "IGOR" is one of my favorite albums of all-time now, and this single is sure to be in my rotation for a while.


"Strawberry Fiona" - Annie Jump Cannon


Tucson, Arizona's Annie Jump Cannon released their album "Flourishing Apart" last week, and you already knew I fell in love when I saw they had a song with the word "strawberry" in it. Super fun pop-punk track here.


"Ginger Chew" - Marigold


Marigold was one of the first bands I worked with when I started working for Vibe Check PR/management about a year ago, when we helped out on the campaign for their single "Waiting On Me." It's insane to see how far they've come and I can't wait to see them continue to succeed.


"Weapon X Intro" - XweaponX


Weapon X is a brand-new hardcore band including Isaac Hale and Bryan Garris of Knocked Loose as well as Bryan's younger brother Trey Garris, who has also been playing with Dare and Kharma as of late. Their first live set will be this Friday at LDB Fest.


"Tragic" - Kill Your Idols


Jumping from a brand-new hardcore band to one that's been around for as long as I can remember! Kill Your Idols just released a split EP with Rule Them All, and this is one of the tracks from it.


"Uneasy Faith" - Rule Them All


This is one of RTA's tracks from their aforementioned split EP with Kill Your Idols. These are two great live bands, and they definitely delivered on this release as well.


"Sticky" - The Maine


If one band and song just scream springtime, it's "Sticky" and The Maine. The lead single from their latest album "XOXO: From Love and Anxiety in Real Time", it's impossible to be in a bad mood when this track is spinning.


"Bella Donna" - Turnover


This is my favorite Turnover song of all-time, and I've been a fan of Turnover for a while, so you know this took a lot of thought. I listened to this song a ton during spring 2020, and it just reminds me of sitting in my bedroom with the blinds open and sunshine coming through my window.


"Widow In The Sunlight" - Fiddlehead


Continuing the theme of favorite songs of all-time, Fiddlehead's "Widow In The Sunlight" is probably in my top five favorite songs ever, if not top three. This whole album "Springtime and Blind" is flawless and reminds me of warm weather, but words can't describe what this track means to me.


"Your One Way Street" - Anxious


This is a song that reminds me of springtime, but this is also a band I'll be seeing this weekend! Anxious is on tour with Knuckle Puck, Hot Mulligan, and Meet Me @ The Altar, and word on the street is they'll be playing a ton of songs from their new album "Little Green House." Check them out if you can, they deserve the world.


"Feel A Thing" - Meet Me @ The Altar


Meet Me @ The Altar is doing amazing things for non-men of color looking to break into the alternative music scene. Although it took me a while to get into them, I'm definitely a fan now.


"How Do You Know It's Not Armadillo Shells?" - Hot Mulligan


I've always been sort of lukewarm on Hot Mulligan, but you can't deny a sing-a-long as good as "Armadillo Shells." Such a catchy, nostalgic tune.


"No Good" - Knuckle Puck


Truth be told, I included this specific Knuckle Puck song because it's my mom's favorite, and she'll be with me when I see all these bands tomorrow, Friday, March 11th, 2022 at Irving Plaza. Nothing gets me jumping around in the studio like an old KP track.


What songs do you want to hear me play after spring break? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook

21 views0 comments
bottom of page