top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams: November 4th, 2021


Welcome to another weekly playlist here on Strawberry Skies! We were unable to do a live shows this week (blame me for being a bit of a busy bee lately) but still wanted to share some jams with you during the first week of November.


If you're reading this between 3:00 and 4:00 PM EST on Thursday, November 4th, you can listen live right now here. If you're not reading this during that timeframe, you can listen to what I played using this week's Spotify playlist here!


"November" - Sleeping With Sirens


You already knew this was going to be here. A song about a sky that looks like fire in November? After the prettiest sunset ever this past weekend? Obligatory. Also, if you know me, you know that I've loved Sleeping With Sirens since I was 10 years old and that isn't changing anytime soon.


"Control My Sanity" - Like Pacific


Words can't describe how excited I am to hear the new album from Like Pacific next month, which will have the same name as this single. I said it in October's monthly playlist, but I'll say it again - the only thing that's missing now is a tour.


"Desperate Pleasures" - Boston Manor


This was the last single that Boston Manor released before dropping their EP of the same name last week, and it is unbelievably catchy (and included on the monthly playlist for October). Really stoked to see this band live again next month.


"Bowser's Castle" - Belmont


Belmont just announced their new EP "Bowser's Mixtape", and this was the lead single from it. Every time this band releases something new, the growth and evolution are evident, and I can't wait to hear the rest of this release.


"In April" - Anxious


I saw Anxious twice in October (October 14th at Space Ballroom in Hamden, CT and October 15th at Elsewhere in Brooklyn, NY) and heard this song live twice last month before it was even out, but even then I knew that I was in love with it. Their debut LP "Little Green House" will be out early next year via Run For Cover Records and is sure to be an early album of the year candidate.


"Sense of Humor" - Can't Swim


I've always liked the aggressive yet eerie-sounding music that Can't Swim makes, and their new album "Change of Plans" is full of tracks like that. They're currently on tour with Silverstein and The Plot In You - if you're liking the new record, go show them some love in your city!


"Talking To Ourselves - Nowhere Sessions" - Rise Against


Rise Against has always been one of my favorite bands, but they hold a special place in my heart now after their song "Satellite" was the first song I crowd surfed to post-pandemic. This alternate version of a track from their 2021 record "Nowhere Generation" is from an upcoming EP due out on November 12th.


"Be Right Now" - Ed Sheeran


I will probably end up defending Ed Sheeran for the rest of my life, but I don't care, he is one of the most talented human beings on the planet. His new record "=" doesn't quite measure up to "+" or "X" or even "÷", but it was a lot better than I expected it to be.


"Coffins" - Never Coming Home


My friends in Never Coming Home have been on a roll lately, releasing their single "South Station over the summer and now the double single "Coffins" and "Feel Nothing." It makes me really happy to see this band starting to take off.


"Oxygen" - Beach Bunny


Beach Bunny's "Honeymoon" was one of my favorite albums of 2020, and their 2021 EP "Blame Game" flew under the radar as one of the strongest releases of this year. Their new single is super catchy and I hope we get more new music from them soon.


"A Song For Your Futile Heart" - Save Face


Save Face's new album "Another Kill For The Highlight Reel" has been one of my most highly-anticipated albums of the year since 2021 started and it certainly did not disappoint. I'm really glad that they're playing so many songs from it on their upcoming tour with Pool Kids, Origami Angel, and Mom Jeans.


"Horrorshow" - Raccoon Tour, Heccra


The debut album from Raccoon Tour "The Dentonweaver" will be out on December 3rd via I Surrender Records and this single from it is a ton of fun - reminds me a lot of older bands like Nevershoutnever and newer bands like Rare Candy. Definitely pre-order a copy on vinyl!


"Violet!" - Waterparks


I saw Waterparks twice this week, at Brooklyn Steel in Brooklyn, NY last Friday and at Toad's Place in New Haven, CT. I hadn't seen them live since 2017 so it was really great to get to come to two shows of their A Night Out On Earth Tour.


"I Feel So" - One Step Closer


I also got to see One Step Closer this weekend on their tour supporting Comeback Kid at The Brooklyn Monarch in Brooklyn, NY. Getting to hear some songs from their new album "This Place You Know" was a really great experience.


What songs do you want to hear me play next week? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

17 views0 comments
bottom of page