top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Moglia

Strawberry Skies Weekly Jams: September 30th, 2021

Updated: Oct 5, 2021


Welcome back to the Strawberry Skies radio show! This week, we're checking out some of my favorite songs from my fall playlist as well as some of my favorite new releases from the past few weeks.


If you're reading this between 3:00 and 4:00 PM EST on Thursday, September 30th, 2021, you can listen live right now here. If you're not reading this during that timeframe, you can listen to what I played using this week's Spotify playlist here!


"Emerald Green" - Penny Bored


Penny Bored is one of my favorite artists to work with and this single from earlier this year is a ton of fun. Their newer single "Gemini" is also amazing.


"Your Back Porch" - Knuckle Puck


This song is a special request from my friend Luke, whose birthday was last week. Knuckle Puck is his favorite band, this is his favorite song by them, and this is also the song that truly made us best friends, but that's a story for another day.


"Scott Pilgrim v. My GPA" - Mom Jeans.


Mom Jeans. released a new single called "What's Up?" and announced that their new album "Sweet Tooth" will be out in early 2022 this week! This track from 2016's "Best Buds" always reminds me of autumn.


"New Halloween" - Touche Amore


Pretty self-explanatory since the word "Halloween" is in the title, but this is another one of those songs that's perfect for fall. The album that this song is off of, "Stage Four" is one of my favorites of all time; I wrote a retrospective review of it around this time last year.


"Heart Of Darkness" - The Amazons


I heard this song for the first time while eating a grilled cheese sandwich in Five Guys two weeks ago and it rocks.


"Never Enuff" - Mansions


I found this song on my Discover Weekly playlist on Spotify around this time during my freshman year of high school, so it seems pretty fitting that I'm obsessed with it once again during the fall of my freshman year of college.


"Whole" - Corbin Giroux


Corbin Giroux, formerly of Rarity, released his third LP as a solo artist and his first-ever full-band solo album this month. I got the chance to chat with him about it in an interview for the site which you can read here!


"Same Old" - rationale.


Made up of past and current members of Homesafe, Knuckle Puck, and Real Friends, rationale. always sort of flew under the radar for me until this year. Their new album "If The Problems Persist" will undoubtedly be one of my favorite albums of 2021 when all is said and done.


"Sunsets and Revelry" - Christian Sparacio


Serving as the follow-up to his summer single "Open Season", Christian Sparacio's new single "Sunsets and Revelry" is perfect for the transition from warmer weather to cooler temperatures. I'm really excited to see what he does next.


"Nervous Wreck" - Real Friends


Real Friends' first EP with new vocalist Cody Muraro, "Torn in Two", is another one of those releases that I know will be on my end-of-year favorites list. I really love the addition of the "re-imagined" versions of each of the tracks as well.


"Anniversary" - Incase We Crash


Working with Incase We Crash over the past six months has been so much fun, and each new release makes me even prouder of them. If fun pop-punk is your thing, you will absolutely love them.


"Old Soul" - Homesafe


Homesafe has been one of my favorite bands for years, and I'm happy to report that their new album "Nervous Reaction" absolutely lived up to all the hype and anticipation. It's good to finally have them back after almost three years.


"But Not For Me" - Never Ending Game


Never Ending Game is one of the most exciting bands in hardcore right now, and their new EP "Halo & Wings" only further proved that. The Triple B Records roster as a whole is just killing the game as always.


"Overkill" - Momentum


Los Angeles hardcore band Momentum released their debut self-titled LP last week through Daze and I've been listening to it nearly every day since. They're playing a show with No Pressure on the west coast tomorrow, but I'm hoping to see them on the east coast sometime soon.


"Hereafter" - One Step Closer


I should carve out a segment of time every week to talk about how much I love One Step Closer. They've inspired so many people my age in hardcore and their new album "This Place You Know" has further cemented that. They're going to take over the world.


"Premonitions of You" - Year of the Knife


I'll be seeing Year of the Knife twice this weekend, once tomorrow at the Prospect VFW in Prospect, CT with 200 Stab Wounds, Kidnapped, Dominion 18, All Due Respect and Broken Vow, and once Saturday at Amityville Music Hall in Amityville, NY with Pain of Truth, King Nine, All Due Respect, Laid 2 Rest and Jay Six. The only time I've gotten to see them live was for a short surprise set this past summer, so I'm really looking forward to getting to catch two full sets from them over the next few days.


"The New Resistance" - Broken Vow


I've been waiting to see Broken Vow for the first time for over a year now, and I'm beyond excited that I'll finally get to watch them play tomorrow. They're another band that I firmly believe will be taking over the world.


What songs do you want to hear me play next week? Let me know by tweeting me at @JENSESSlON or the blog at @StrawbSkiesBlog! The blog can also be found on social media @StrawberrySkiesBlog on Instagram and Strawberry Skies Blog on Facebook.

31 views0 comments
bottom of page